A History of Neglect
Dáil Established

1919- The revolutionary Dáil established by Sinn Fein declares “It shall be the first duty of the Republic to make provision for the physical, mental and spiritual well-being of the children,” but doesn’t suggest an alternative to the British industrial schools.

1920- Six counties partitioned under the Northern Ireland Act.

1922- New Dáil and Seanad established under the Irish Free State Constitution.